

Athens Economic Development Corporation

Board of Directors

Minutes of Board Meeting

September 15, 2020

The Board of Directors of the Athens Economic Development Corporation (hereinafter referred to as AEDC) held a Board Meeting at 10:00 A.M. on Tuesday, September 15, 2020 in the Derek D. Daniels Room of the Athens Partnership Center located at 201 W Corsicana Street, Athens, Texas.

Directors present: Will Traxson, John Trent, Danny Tidmore, Morgan Jones, Randy

Jones

Staff Present Joanie Ahlers, Executive Director and Valerie Franklin, Office Manager

Ex-Officio: Mayor Monte Montgomery, City Manager Elizabeth Borstad

Guest: Councilmen Aaron Smith and Ed McCain and Abiel Carrillo of KSA

Engineers

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 10:08 A.M. by President Will Traxson for all agenda items. A quorum was present.

Declaration of Conflict of Interest

None.

Public Communications

None.

Consider discussion and possible action regarding the approval of Minutes from AEDC Board Meeting on August 18, 2020

A motion was made by John Trent and Danny Tidmore seconded to approve the August 18, 2020 minutes. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider discussion and possible action regarding the August 2020 Financials

Executive Director Ahlers explained that the financials look great. Sales Tax revenues are up 29% for this month however it looks like there will be a shortage of about 2% from last year for next month.

Danny Tidmore made a motion to accept the August 2020 financials. The motion was seconded by Randy Jones and the motion carried unanimously.

Consider discussion and possible action concerning committee selection for top three proposals for RFQ Athens Industrial Park Roadway and Drainage

Mrs. Ahlers explained the review committee consisting of City Manager Borstad, Tim Perry, Roads and Streets Manager and herself reviewed eight proposals and narrowed it down their top three. The top three were invited in for in-person interviews, the three engineering firms were, Velvin and Weeks, Bartlett and West, and LJA Engineering. The interview Committee consisted of the three original committee members plus AEDC board of Directors' Tidmore, Trent and Traxson. As a result of those interviews and their proposals, LJA was selected as the top applicant.

President Traxson asked if we had a budgeted amount set aside this year. He asked if it would be above \$50,000. Executive Director Ahlers stated she did not think it will be above that. LJA will work with us as far as budget and grants.

A motion was made by Danny Tidmore to retain LJA Engineering for the Athens Industrial Park Roadway and Drainage project. It was seconded by John Trent. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider discussion and possible action concerning office lease to Hannigan Media

Executive Director Ahlers stated Michael Hannigan works contract work for AEDC and directly for the City and TVCC. He is a social media consultant. The Partnership Center has several empty offices and he has selected an interior office. An amount of \$300 per month was negotiated.

Randy Jones made a motion to lease office space to Michael Hannigan/Hannigan Media. Danny Tidmore seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

Consider discussion and possible action concerning replacement of AEDC Director Carmen Hunt

A letter was read from Director Carmen Hunt. There was discussion and several names submitted as a replacement for her. Deann Boswell, Donna Foster Meredith, Kris Russell, Mark Carroll, Ruth Beltran and Kathy Jasek.

A motion was made by John Trent that Ruth Beltran be the nominee for the replacement of Carmen Hunt. There was no second. The motioned died. Randy Jones made a motion that Donna Foster Meredith be the nominee as the replacement of Carmen Hunt. It was seconded by Danny Tidmore. Three members for and two against. The motion carried.

Executive Director's Update

The investment committee met on August 25, 2020. Which fulfills the meeting requirement of minimum of one annual meeting. The committee decided to try to find a local bank to give a better rate of return. It was not successful. There was discussion. The investment committee will reconvene. The committee will meet quarterly instead of annually.

The SBI land sale passed City Council and will be moving forward.

The City's Master planning is moving into the final stages and they had a meeting last Thursday at the Texan and it was well attended. There is also an interactive website.

Economic Development seems to be a big part of the city's plan. There is a focus on the development of downtown, the airport and areas around the loop.

Biomerics is having a problem with the fire suppression system. The secondary lines need to be replaced. It is not in the lease for us to replace the lines. They still have \$90,000 left on their draw from the TI loan. They may be coming back to ask for an increase on the loan amount in order to cover the cost of repairing the fire system. They are in process of a \$3 million dollar expansion in the next year or so.

The COVID grant program was extended last night through the city council. We have about \$51,000 left. Businesses that were shut down by the Governor's order and restaurants. The amount is up to \$15,000. The deadline is set for Friday, September 25, 2020. The committee members will be Morgan Jones, Will Traxson, Randy Jones, Elizabeth Borstad, and Joanie Ahlers. The meeting will be held on Monday, September 28, 2020 in the afternoon. Michael Hannigan will do a podcast to get it out on our website and the chamber. President Traxson will be a part of the podcast.

Jason Klonch is a consultant working on the city's master plan. He is also with Catalyst Economic Development in the metroplex. He specializes in targeted economic development projects. He was given a tour of AEDC properties. He is making phone calls to see if there is any interest out there. He has contacts that we have identified during master plan of the city.

AEDC Board of Directors' future agenda items	
None.	
Adjourn	
With no other business to discuss, the meeting w	vas adjourned at 11:05 a.m.
Randy Jones, Secretary	Will Traxson, President